University Leadership

University Leadership

Khalifa University of Science and Technology is governed under the patronage of President His Highness Shaikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, the Khalifa University of Science and Technology Board of Trustees, executive management and academic leadership. All programs offered by the university have been accredited by the Ministry of Higher Education, UAE.

Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan

A decree to set up the Khalifa University of Science and Technology has been issued by President His Highness Shaikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan in his capacity as the Ruler of Abu Dhabi. (Decree no. 5 for 2017).

Khalifa University Board of Trustees

Chairman- His Highness Sheikh Hamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan

Chairman, Abu Dhabi Crown Prince's Court (CPC)

HE Hussain bin Ibrahim Al Hammadi

UAE Cabinet Member and Minister of Education 

HE Dr. Sultan bin Ahmed Al Jaber

Minister of State, Chief Executive Officer, ADNOC and Chairman, Masdar 

HE Ali Rashid Qanas Al Ketbi

Acting Director, Human Resources, Abu Dhabi Government 

HE Prof. Maha Taysir Barakat

Director General, Health Authority – Abu Dhabi (HAAD) 

HE Homaid Abdullah Al Shimmari

Chief Executive Officer, Aerospace and Engineering Services, Mubadala 

Eng. Saleh Abdullah Al Abdooli

Chief Executive Officer, Etisalat Group 

HE Abdulmunim Saif Al Kindy

Director, Exploration, Development and Production Directorate, ADNOC 

Abdulaziz Abdulla Alhajri

Director, Refining and Petrochemicals Directorate, ADNOC 

Dr. Nawal Khalifa Al Hosany

Director, Sustainability, Masdar and Director, Zayed Future Energy Prize 

Dr. Martin Schmidt

Provost, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) 

Vicki A. Hollub

President and Chief Executive Officer, Occidental Petroleum 

Marillyn A. Hewson

Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer, Lockheed Martin Corporation 

Dr. Fred Moavenzadeh

James Mason Crafts Professor Emeritus of Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Former President, Masdar Institute 

Dr. Tod A. Laursen

Khalifa University

Dr. Arif Sultan Al Hammadi

Executive Vice President
Khalifa University

Dr. Mohammed Ebrahim Al-Mualla

Senior Vice President
Research & Graduate Studies

Ebrahim Jafar Alahmed

Vice President
Finance & Administration

Acting Vice President 
Communications & Business Development  

Mosallam Al Kathiri

Mosallam Al Kathiri

Vice President
Human Resources & Procurement 

Dr. Ali M Dawood

Acting Vice President
Undergraduate Studies & Student Services


Prof. Bayan Sharif

Dean & Professor, College of Engineering  

Prof. David Sheehan

Dean & Professor, College of Science

Prof. Hassan Barada

Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies

Prof. Mahmoud Al-Qutayri

Associate Dean, Graduate Studies 

Prof. Lakmal Seneviratne

Associate Vice President of Research and Graduate Studies & Director for Robotics Institute 


Prof. Wesley Cantwell

Associate Dean, Research and Chair (Interim), Department of Aerospace Engineering

Prof. Joel Hayward

Chair, Department of Humanities and Social Sciences & Director, Institute for International and Civil Security (IICS)

Dr. Khaled

Dr. Ali M. Dawood

Acting VP for Undergraduate Studies and Student Services & Associate Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dr. Khaled

Dr. Mohammed Ismail Elnagger

Professor & Director of ATIC 


Dr. Robert Bennell

Chair (Interim), Department of Applied Mathematics and Sciences


Prof. Tim McGloughlin

Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering

Prof. Haris Doumanidis

Acting Chair, Department of Civil Infrastructure and Environmental Engineering 

Dr. Thanos Stouraitis

Prof. Thanos Stouraitis

Chair, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Prof. Kudret Demirli

Prof. Kudret Demirli

Chair, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering


Dr. Dimitrios Kyritsis

Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Dr. Philip Beeley

Chair, Department of Nuclear Engineering & Director, Gulf Nuclear Energy Infrastructure Institute (GENII)

Jim Boyce

Director, Preparatory Program